Announcement & December Highlights

Season’s Greetings! I wanted to loop you all in on the fact that I will be on a short medical leave in the month of January. I told the children this week that we won’t see each other for about a month because I have to stay home and rest but that I will be thinking of them and will be back to play games with them before they know it. In the meantime we are lucky to have Kelly, who just completed student teaching in Shaquawn & Amann’s class, as a long term sub for me while I’m out. As some extra motivation to show Kelly their best behavior, the classes will get checkmarks for following the rules of the gym while I’m away. If they earn enough checkmarks they will get to play a school-wide favorite game when I get back: Gaga Ball!

Check out a short update below about how things have progressed in PE classes in December.

December has been a lot of fun with all classes learning new games. The Pre-K got explore with more materials, including different shaped hoops, various balls, and cones. They also tried out the big parachute and games that included various locomotor movements like skipping, walking on tiptoe, crawling, and stomping. The K/1 and 2/3 classes got introduced to a couple new stations, including Handball. The 4/5 classes really honed in on the rules and sportsmanship aspects of Handball and teamwork. It was a great way to end 2022!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *